About

Hi! 

Not sure that anyone really wants to know about me, but just in case, I thought I’d add a page, so if you’re reading this, thanks for taking an interest!  My name is Shelly, I currently live in Orange County, CA with my boyfriend, Jordan.  Between us, we have two dogs named Artemis and Abby, and two horses, Igo Bright (Bee) and Hot Tin Kitty (Kitty).  I have two cats, that unfortunately no longer live with us, but are living out their lives quite comfortably (and dog free) with my mom which is why you will most likely see them appear on may page occasionally (oh the joys of trying to merge pets).  I’ve grown up in OC for the most part, visiting my dad and family during school breaks, in Medford OR and then in parts of WA (Othello, congrats if you know where that is???, Snohomish, and now Puyallup).  It is thanks to my dad and stepmom that I have had the wonderful opportunity to own and get to know some wonderful horses during my childhood and thanks to my mom that I had the opportunity to bring my girl Bee down to OC.

I graduated from CSU Fullerton with a BA in History as well as a teaching credential in Social Studies.  I love history and I love art/photography, so I will try to incorporate those into my posts whenever possible.  As for photography, I actually don’t know much about the technical side of things, I just know what I like and what I think looks good (the key word here is “think,” so keep that in mind).  I love rich and contrasting colors and so most of my photography will be in color, and probably shot in the afternoon, and that’s about as technical as I get.  If you are wondering, the camera I use now is a Canon DSLR that came with two lenses that I got for a decent deal on clearance at Best Buy and my iPhone.   The canon is new, and is my first SLR, so I’m still learning a lot.

Horses
For those of you who would like to get to know the horses that will most likely be the primary subjects of my blog/photography, this section is for you!

Bee: Igo Bright, a.k.a. Bee (because Igo Bright is a weird name), is a 19 yr old 15 hand, Breeding Stock Paint mare, who happens to have few actual markings to make her look like a real paint.  She’s half quarter horse, so I usually just tell people she’s a quarter horse (but now you know the truth!).  I have owned Bee since 2004, right after she turned 8 (her B-day is May 1st).  Bee is incredibly energetic, though she’s learned to calm down in her older age.  We used to do gymkhana together (mostly for fun, we’ve only done a few local shows), but as she has gotten older, she’s decided she no longer loves it, so these days we stick to our other passion, trail riding.  You’ll notice in some of the photos of her that she has a brand on her back left hip.  For you brand enthusiasts out there, the symbol is known as “Mill Iron Bar” (top/bottom), and she is from Mitchell Creek Ranch, once located in Northern CA and moved to Southern OR, where I am not sure it exists anymore.

Kitty: Hot Tin Kitty, a.k.a. Kitty (because saying Hot Tin Kitty all the time would be weird), is an 12 yr old Thoroughbred mare.  Kitty is an OTTB (off the track thoroughbred) who competed in a whopping total of 3 races!  She won 1 of them, and did not place in the other 2 (and I’m not sure in which order).  Thankfully, Kitty moved on to someone with the patience to retrain her racing brain into a pretty solid little horse (for a thoroughbred she’s small, about 15.1 hands).  She then changed hands, at least one more time, if not more, before becoming mine.  As of August/September 2016, she officially became Bee’s new sister.  Despite her breed (and breeding) she’s a pretty smart and relaxed horse, that I usually stick my boyfriend on when we go trail riding.  If one was to guess who the OTTB was based on energy and attitude, most would probably guess Bee before Kitty (at least if it weren’t for her very obvious thoroughbred head).

Both of my horses live in Orange Park Acres (sadly, I do not) at a private home.  As I do not own a trailer, most of my riding is done locally.  Local shows on occasion, but mostly trails, which is the primary focus of this blog.

Small Pets

Artemis: Artemis is a 8 yr old (???) “mastiff mix,” (according to the shelter, so I’m assuming some pit in there).  He is very friendly and loves any kind of attention (because he’s a dog).

Abby: Abby is a 3 year old Beagle we recently rescued in December.  She’s a typical beagle who is mischievous and likes to stick her little nose where she shouldn’t, but she’s ridiculously cute, so she gets away with a lot.

Bug: Bug is a 13 yr old female, orange tabby (which I guess is unusual?).  She used to live with me and my mom as an indoor/outdoor cat, but upon me moving in with my boyfriend, she had big issues with the dog and had to stay with my mom. 😦  I still visit her often, and she is much happier without the dog.

Charlie: Charlie is a 5 yr old male black & white cat.  His full name is Charlie Catlin (as his mustache was more centered as a kitten), and when he’s bad is sometimes referred to as Kitler.  However, he’s quite sweet and as his situation was the same as Bug’s, he lives with my mom.

That’s about it for me.  Thanks for taking the time to read alllll the way to the end, and thank you for visiting my blog.  Hope you like it!

Featured Picture: Jordan on Kitty with Me on Bee, Peter’s Canyon, 2016.